Islamic Topics

Five Pillars of Islam | Get 3 FREE trial Quran Classes

Pillars of Islam | The Five Pillars of Islam are the setting of Muslim life. They are the witness of faith, prayer, zakat (support of the needy), fasting during the month of Ramadan and pilgrimage to Mecca once in a lifetime for those who can.

5 pillars of islam
5 pillars of islam

1. The profession of faith – Shahada

The profession of faith, the shahada, is the most basic expression of Islamic beliefs. He simply declares that “There is no God but God and Muhammad is his prophet”. This underlines the monotheistic nature of Islam. It is an extremely popular expression in Arabic calligraphy and appears in many manuscripts and religious buildings.

Also, read Quran Online Learning

2. Daily prayers-Salat

Muslims must pray five times a day. That does not mean they have to go to the mosque to pray; rather, prayer, or daily prayer, should be recited five times a day. Muslims can pray anywhere; However, they are destined to pray to Mecca.

3. Alms-Giving-Zakat

The donation of alms is the third pillar. Although not defined in the Quran, Muslims believe they are supposed to share their wealth with the less fortunate of their community of believers.

4. Fasting during Ramadan-Saum

During the holy month of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar, Muslims should fast from dawn to dusk. Although there are exceptions for sick people, the elderly and pregnant women, all should abstain from eating and drinking during the day.

5. Pilgrimage to Mecca-Hajj

All able Muslims are required to make the pilgrimage to Mecca and the surrounding holy places at least once in their life. The pilgrimage focuses on visiting the Kaaba and wandering around seven times. The pilgrimage takes place in the 12th month of the Islamic calendar.

the five pillars of islam
the five pillars of islam

The rites of the hajjânt go seven times around the Kaaba and go seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwa, as Hagar did during his search for water. Then the pilgrims stand together in Arafa5 and ask God what they want and for their forgiveness, in what is often seen as a glimpse of the Day of Judgment.

The end of the Hajj is marked by a festival, Eid Al-Adha, which is celebrated with prayers. This, and Eid al-Fitr, a feast day commemorating the end of Ramadan, are the two annual festivals of the Muslim calendar.

help to learn Quran online


Related Articles

Leave a Reply